Bookmarks

On this very cold and rainy day, I’ve decided to clean up my bookmarks. I use two types of bookmarking. One is the bookmark library on Firefox, and the other one is an plug-in called Speed Dial. I don’t use bookmarking sites because I’ve used it once and I didn’t like it. I don’t like the fact that I have to open a website to open websites, you know what I mean?

I use the bookmark library and Speed Dial for different purposes. My bookmark library contains important websites that I need to go to regularly and articles from websites that I want to read or refer to again and again. My speed dial contains blogs and blog-like websites (not a particular article) because speed dial has the ability to refresh on its own (you can set how many times in a day/week you want the page to refresh). Blogs content tend to change very often so having refreshed image of the blog gives me a reminder to check it. However, I also put VERY essential websites such as gmail, facebook, wordpress dashboard on the first page of my speed dial, because that’s the page I see everytime I open my firefox.

So this post is going to be a graphic designer version of fashion bloggers’ “what’s inside your handbag” post. I’m going to share with you what I bookmark, and hopefully you will find something that you would want to bookmark for yourself.

Let’s ignore the Shop, Mozilla Firefox and Food & Recipes folder.

1. WeTransfer

I found this website when I was trying to send 100-something megabyte file to a client in Indonesia. The maximum transfer size for We Transfer is 2 gigabyte, and they’re free! Well, unless you want to have your own channel. What you’ll get for $120/year is your own personalised WeTransfer website (eg. witapuspita.wetransfer.com) and the file will be kept up to 4 weeks. Samsung is one of the many companies who advertise and have their own channel at WeTransfer. The site is simple and so easy to use. You don’t need to sign up, orĀ  pay to receive premium upgrades. You just have to write your email so that the recipient knows that the file is from you. So simple, so easy, zero dodgy-ness.

2. Lost and Taken

Lost and Taken is one of the website that have helped me a lot through out my years designing. Caleb Kimbrough is the man behind the website who creates high-resolution textures for free use. I felt that his website have helped me a lot for so many years that I decided to donate a few dollars to the website hehehe. It’s not big money, but I just want to show my appreciation for the website, and hope he’s still going to run it for a long time. Even if he doesn’t, all the textures he has posted is suffice for a lifetime designing resource.

3. The League of Moveable Type

This is not just another website with downloadable free fonts. Sure, they don’t have as many fonts as 1001 free fonts, not even close. But they have quality fonts. Fonts that you can actually use. In fact, I use Blackout font for this blog header.

4. Design Crowd

I bet a lot of designers have heard about Design Crowd. It’s an online design marketplace. People can post project briefs on the website, and freelance designers like me will try to create the project. If yours is chosen, you’ll get paid. I just recently became a member because of their design your own banner competition. So I haven’t really participate much.

5 & 6. Not design related. Willow park nursery is the place I want to buy hydrangea plants from, and book depository sells cheaper-than-australian-stores books with free shipping worldwide.

7. Home Life

This is not graphic design related either, but I feel like I have to share this awesome website. Ever since I became a home maker, I like browsing for home making blogs and websites. Home Life is based in Australia, so the houses are more similar to mine. Other than looking at their awesome decorated homy homes, they also give tips and DIYs such as “how to fold a fitted sheet” (that is a hard one. I still can’t do it) or “How to prune roses”. Yeah, 3 years ago if i hear about this kind of website I would be thinking “why would I read about all those things??” hahaha. At the moment this website really come in handy for me.

8. an article I found in Miss Design blog showcasing a swedish apartment interior.

9. Ekenstam.se

No, I don’t read or speak swedish. But by browsing this site, I came into conclusion that Ekenstam is a property selling/buying website in Sweden, just like allhomes or domain in Australia. Well, I can’t justify that I’m right. So if there’s any Swedish readers, could you please tell me if I’m right? Hahaha. I bookmarked this website because it’s a very cool website. If I’m right about this website being a property selling/buying site, look at the layout! It’s sooo cool. And the photos make me want to buy all the houses they advertise. Hahaha. Actually I found one house that cost pretty much the same as my home. Should I sell my house and move to Sweden? : P

10. A Tutorial on Spoongraphics blog on how to crate a cute baby monster using Adobe Illustrator. I bookmarked this just in case I want to do a tutorial on my blog in the future, because I think his tutorial was pretty easy to understand. So basically this is my tutorial on how to do a tutorial.

11. A List on Walyou for graphic designers who wants to make more money online. It links them to websites such as Design Crowd.

12. Graphic Designer Blender wrote an article on how to stand out and get noticed as a designer. One of the thing that I would love to do is “send holiday cards” to my clients and previous clients. The cards would be designed by me, of course. I think that would make them happy, and I could promote my recent work at the same time. Graphic Designer Blender has lots of business tips for designers.

13. A website called Hongkiat.com showcased Beautiful & Creative Single-Page Portfolio Websites. I found this a long time ago when I was trying to create my portfolio, and I eventually gave up and did it using facebook instead. Hahaha. Well, I’m not saying I will never try again. Maybe one day. I’d love to create a portfolio iPad app, though.

14. iDiY

A website I used during my wedding planning because they have lots of easy DIY wedding projects. The blog, however, is not updated anymore.

15. A really entertaining and funny story about a graphic designer called David Thorne and his secretary who lost her cat. I laughed like crazy when I read the story, for a few times in a row! Haha, yeah it’s that funny. Well, I don’t know if it’s funny for everybody, but I guess for most designers, who have experienced something similar like what David Thorne has in this story, will laugh. The website also have other stories related to graphic designers and their…. “wonderful” clients. But I have read nothing funnier than the cat story.

That’s all the bookmarks I have in my Bookmark Library. Maybe one day I should share what I bookmark on my speed dials.

Share with me if you have bookmarked something interesting, especially design-related, in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

