The Spot Legian in Bali

I have blogged before that I was doing some branding design for The Spot hotel in Legian, Bali. I live in Australia, therefore I could not be there during the hotel’s opening. However, I got a chance to visit Bali early this month, so I went to visit the newly built hotel (just opened in April 2012!)

{ Welcome to The Spot }

The kind General Manager, Nathania Regina, gave me a free night stay in the hotel. I got the Monalisa Room, which posters were designed by ME! : )

{ Monalisa Room }

Some of you might be thinking “Monalisa? That doesn’t look like Monalisa at all!” Well, there is a little history about my creation of Monalisa. The owner, whom I have known for quite a long time, before she ventured in hotel business tried her luck in opening a bagel cafe in Jakarta, Indonesia. The bagel cafe was called: “Bagel-Lisa”, and she asked me to design a logo that has cartoonised version of Monalisa. However, turns out that she has a better luck in running hotels than a bagel cafe, so Bagel-Lisa had to cease business and she moved to Bali and has opened two hotels since, and there will be more to come! I am so happy for her.

However, she loves Bagel Lisa character so much (who wouldn’t when it’s so cute) that she wanted to make one of the room in The Spot hotel Monalisa Room, and she asked me to re-design the Bagel Lisa character to make a series of posters. First poster shows Bagel-Lisa (or Monalisa now) drinking coffee at 9 am in the morning; She’s having her spaghetti lunch at noon for second poster; On the third, she’s asleep at 9pm.

The Spot hotel is a funky hotel that shows different themes and color for every rooms. What is interesting is that the themes are often pop-culture themes such as The Simpsons, Friends, Audrey Hepburn and many more. So whatever is your favourite tv show/actress/city, The Spot might have the room for you!

These are two other rooms in The Spot that I got to photograph that day as they were vacant. For your information I also designed the posters for the Union Jack room. Click here for more information : )

When I went into the Union Jack room, the thing that catches my attention the most was the birdcage lamp. How awesome is that! I wanted them for my bedroom, but I didn’t know how to put them up hahaha. Union Jack is my favourite room from all the rooms in The Spot. I’d love to decorate my bedroom in Canberra similar as that room : )

{ The awesome birdcage lamp }

A little bit about The Spot,

The Spot hotel is located at Legian, the heart of Bali’s hottest nightlife. That’s where the clubs and pubs are. So if you’re in Bali for the nightlife, The Spot is where you should stay. The interior is modern, with decent size room and bathroom (don’t expect huge ass room for the price : P), it is in fact bigger than most hotels with that kind of price in this location. The rate at the moment is 70 USD including breakfast at their rooftop bar with rooftop pool, Meet & Greet : ) That rate is for 2 people per room per night, extra bed will be charged extra. For more information, visit their website.

You can also visit their fun blog here!

{ See you at The Spot! }

The Spot Hotel, Legian is at: Jl. Raya Legian, (Ground Zero), Troppozone Lane No. 8, Kuta – Bali – Indonesia 80361

Phone: +62 361 854 8990 or +62 361 751 940

http://www.thespotbali.com

Leave a Reply

