Love yourself.

Cute print by Lim Heng Swee aka ilovedoodle from Malaysia. See more of his work or buy his prints at his etsy store.

I know it’s easy to say but harder to do, but I’ve gotta love myself more (not in the self centered, narcissistic way obviously). As in, be more grateful about everything that has happened/belong to me. Maybe I have spent my whole life 70% complaining and 30% being thankful? I’ve got to stop looking at others and saying “why can’t I be like that”, but instead look at myself and be grateful of what I have achieved.

My gratitude:

  • I’m thankful for having the opportunity to celebrate my wedding day in Melbourne, instead of in Indonesia because I dislike Indonesian wedding.
  • I’m thankful to finally be able to move back to Australia instead of being stuck in Indonesia for the rest of my life
  • I’m thankful that I ended up with my first love after 6 years of not-so-easy relationship, including 2 years of long distance. And up till now, I’m thankful that he turns out to be a great husband
  • I’m thankful that after I got married, I straight away got a decent home to live in, in a great area close to shops and gyms, and not renting or sharing with other people
  • I’m thankful for my parents who always provide me with the great things in life, and guide me through life. and I’m also thankful that I DON’T have any siblings : D Sorry to be so selfish, but NOT having a sibling is probably the best thing in my life so far. Mwahaha.
  • I’m thankful to have the BEST in laws ever. Most people I know have problems with their in-laws even before they are married, but not me! I have a very caring mum-in-law, a funny father-in-law, a kind sis-in-law and a cool bro-in-law
  • and last but not least, I’m thankful that all my life, everything has been pretty easy. I’ve never feel like I have to try so hard for anything. Even in secondary school, I don’t even know how could I go through 3.5 years without going down to Normal Academic or Normal Technical classes (it’s Singaporean school system. Google it if you don’t get it), despite of my horrible horrible results (I got 7/100 for accounting, I failed ART once, and I’ve ever got a ZERO once for maths. My other subjects’ results are usually just pass or fail). I’ve never broken up with anybody in my life. I’ve never lost a good friend (I have been bestfriends with my best friend for 12 years : ) ). And despite of the way I glide lazily through life, I’ve never been faced with anything bad. So, I should be thankful for that.

Of course I shouldn’t just sit back, relax and live life as it is. I am thankful for all that, but imagine if I put more effort in my life, such as in my work, wouldn’t my life be more fantastic? So that’s what I should do.

I’m going to Sydney tonight to attend Nuffnang Blogopolis 2012 tomorrow! I’ll take pictures and post updates about the event when I’m back. See ya!

2 thoughts on “Love yourself.

Leave a Reply

